NetBeans or Eclipse?

After completing one college project in Core Java. I am learning some JSP and Servlet. Now planning to do next project based on web using JSF framework with JQuery and Ajax. But before beginning the first step to it, i am really confuse to select correct IDE for JSF. Lots of question coming into my mind, In which tool I will get much resources?, which is much user friendly?, which one is running more in companies?, are both similar? and bla bla bla. I hope you can understand my problem. Professionals, please do suggest me correct IDE for JSF and if possible please send me the link to their best resources so that i can learn quickly.

2 Responses to NetBeans or Eclipse?

  1. Petr Jiricka says:

    Hi Prashant,

    I will try to answer your questions.

    > In which tool I will get much resources?

    Eclipse has more plugins available that are valuable if you need advanced functionality. On the other hand, NetBeans has great documentation (tutorials, HOWTOs etc) on the web, and all in one place: http://netbeans.org/kb/index.html

    > which is much user friendly?

    NetBeans is more intuitive, user friendly and everything “just works” out of the box.

    > which one is running more in companies?

    Eclipse, although this gap is closing and NetBeans is now also used more and more.

    > are both similar?

    In many ways, yes. Of course there are also important differences, but the basic workflow is quite similar.

    Disclosure: I work on the NetBeans team, so while I tried to provide honest answers, I acknowledge that I am biased.

    • Prashant says:

      Thank you very much jiricka, your suggestion are very much useful to me.
      After reading your suggestion and being a beginner, i have decided to continue with Netbeans.
      Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

